From our mothers to our daughters, our sisters, neighbors, and friends, there are so many women in our community who serve as leaders in their families, workplaces, schools, and towns.  The Women in Leadership Luncheon celebrates and honors these women and female students in central Connecticut.  More than 600 women have been celebrated for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions in our community since 1985, and hundreds of their supporters attend each luncheon to show their appreciation for these phenomenal women.

We invite you to participate in the 2019 Women in Leadership Luncheon in one or more of the following ways: 

The Women in Leadership Luncheon also serves as a fundraiser for YWCA New Britain.  Proceeds from this event support important YWCA programs such as childcare, family literacy, youth development for middle school and high school girls, health and wellness programs, and sexual assault crisis services.  Thank you for helping to make this event a success!



Thank You To Our Sponsors


We are proud to announce this year’s slate of Women in Leadership honorees being inducted into the Carol R. Virostek Academy of Women Leaders:

Lillian Agostini, Volunteer, CCARC, Inc., and Owner, New Britain Transportation Company

Ann Anderson, Coordinator for Feed the Need Ministry, South Congregational First Baptist Church

Francine Austin, Past President, New Britain Lions Club

Marie Bachand, Vice President, North Oak Neighborhood Revitalization Zone

Giselle Benitez, Production Lead, Okay Industries, Inc.

Rose Booker, Food Service Manager, CW Resources, Inc.

Donna Clark, Senior Warden, St. Mark's Episcopal Church

Ivonne Daigle, Director of Day Services, Bristol Adult Resource Center, Inc.

Athena Dellas, Chief Financial Officer, Wheeler Clinic

Myrna Garcia-Bowen, Director, Transfer & Articulation, Central Connecticut State University

Paula Gilberto, President & CEO, United Way of Central & Northeastern Connecticut

Alexandrea Isaac, General Counsel, Starion Energy, Inc.

Nancy Kroeber, Board Member, CT Breast Health Initiative

Jill Larmett, Disability Resource Coordinator, Capital Workforce Partners

Nella Lastrina, Executive Administrator, Greater New Britain Chamber of Commerce

Elaine Lechowicz, Secretary, Arch Area Neighborhood Revitalization Zone

Michelle Lewis, Organizational Assistant, CT Breast Health Initiative

Nelba Marquez-Greene, Founder & Executive Director, Ana Grace Project

Barbara Marzi, Executive Assistant & Development Coordinator, CCARC, Inc.

Jessica Parlapiano, Accounting Payroll Administrator, CW Resources, Inc.

Janice Pina, Assistant Principal, Slade Middle School, Consolidated School District of New Britain

Lynn Ricci, Chairperson, Community Foundation of Greater New Britain, and President & CEO, Hospital for Special Care

Kimberly Selvaggi, Executive Director, LISA, Inc.

Kim Sirois Pita, Founder & Owner, Pita Peaces

Dayna Snell, Executive Director, Queen Ann Nzinga Center

Ashley Stone, Founder & Owner, Beauty Entourage and BE Salon & Studio

Julie Swan, Community Service Officer, New Britain Police Department

Zulma Toro, President, Central Connecticut State University

Tamara Vrabely, Accounting Manager & Acting Corporate Secretary, Okay Industries, Inc.

Galina Wolinetz, Head of Integration Management, Stanley Black & Decker

Jenifer Yarsawich, Detective, New Britain Police Department

Student Honorees:

Amal Al-Hidami, Southington High School

Flore Barrillon, Conard High School

Alisha Chhabra, Rocky Hill High School

Claudia Cupe, Asnuntuck Community College

Taylor Domingue, Bristol Eastern High School

Annette Figueroa, Lincoln Technical Institute

Gillian Gereg, Farmington High School

Sonya Hadley, Middletown High School

Jenna Liseo, Cromwell High School

Sage Maier, Tunxis Community College

Sarah McAuliffe, St. Paul Catholic High School

Ebaa Mohmed, New Britain High School

Emma Moore, Wethersfield High School

Demesis Negron Figueroa, Central Connecticut State University

Keagan Ostop, Northwest Catholic High School

Victoria Pham, Conard High School

Daneirys Rivera, E.C. Goodwin Technical High School

Emma Roski, Berlin High School

Isabella Russo, University of St. Joseph

Jenna Scanlon, Newington High School



Photos From the 2017 Luncheon

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Allegra Anderson Photography